Explore. Imagine. Love.

Purposeful parenting amid a world of sugar, screens and schedules.

I Said YES to Helping in the Kitchen

Leave a comment

When I let my kids cook with me, messes are bound to happen.

Kids Helping in the Kitchen

I had my computer up for a recipe and had the brilliant idea of letting Big Sis stir some flour right next to it.

Sometimes more eating and playing gets done than helping.

10408051_10100269559018596_1923720808927517850_n (1)

chocolate cake batter

10436258_10100269559073486_6679405398690339597_n

“Look mommy, I have a beard!”

But sometimes Big Sis is actually a really big help.  Knives make me super nervous, but when she asked if she could help in the kitchen and all I had for her to do was chop things….

I said YES!  

I got out a butter knife and gave her a pile of mushrooms and asparagus and let her have at it (after a lot of practice we can move up to a sharper knife, but we’ll stick to a butter knife for now!)  She did great.  Some pieces were a LOT larger than other pieces but that’s ok.  Not only did she enjoy doing such a big girl job, it really did help me and save me some time….and she also was more interested in trying her food at dinner time.  Win-win-win!

I Said YES to Letting my Preschooler Help in the Kitchen

 

Do you have an I Said YES story to share?  Let me know and you could be the next one featured in my blog.

Author: Explore Imagine Love

exploreimaginelove.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

