Explore. Imagine. Love.

Purposeful parenting amid a world of sugar, screens and schedules.

Baked Bean Tinfoil Stew

Leave a comment

Baked Bean Tinfoil Stew

Baked Bean Tinfoil Stew by Explore Imagine Love

 

I make things that I’ve made up all the time and it’s different every time because I never write down exactly what I do.  So when I write a “recipe” it is just a guess at the amounts I used.  Feel free to change it to your taste or to make more or less for a different number of people.  I made three large tinfoil packets with this for my husband and I and the two girls.  We ended up having some leftovers.

  • Ground beef- 1 lb
  • Baked beans- large can or 1 cans
  • Black beans- 1 can
  • Navy beans- 1 can
  • Onion- one, diced
  • Ketchup- about 3/4 cup
  • Smoked paprika or liquid smoke- about 1 tsp
  • Worcestershire sauce- about 2 tbsp
  • Cider vinegar- optional- about 1 tsp
  • Bacon- optional- dice up maybe 6 strips and put it on the bottom of the tin foil to make sure it gets cooked through

DSC09077

 

I split the ground beef into thirds and tear it up into small pieces so that it is not just a blob that we have to cut up later. Dice an onion and add that to the tinfoil with some of each of the beans. Mix a bunch of ketchup with a little worcestershire sauce, cider vinegar and smoked paprika (or liquid smoke) and mix that in. I just poured mine on top but it’s pretty thick and sticky and stuck to the tinfoil a bit so mixing it in would help.  Does not have to cook as long as something with potatoes or other hard veggies- just make sure the beef is done.  Enjoy!  Yummy to eat with fritos or corn bread muffins or with a dollop of sour cream.

Check out my general tinfoil cooking tips for more info.

Author: Explore Imagine Love

exploreimaginelove.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

