Explore. Imagine. Love.

Purposeful parenting amid a world of sugar, screens and schedules.

Tin Foil Enchiladas

Leave a comment

As a part of my tin-foil meals series, I introduce to you…

Tin Foil Enchiladas by Explore Imagine Love

Tin Foil Enchiladas

  • Shredded pre-cooked chicken (cooked up with a bit of oil, garlic and onion…or try bbq pulled pork!)* see note below
  • Black beans
  • Cheese
  • Tortillas- I use corn
  • “Spanish” rice (pre cooked** see note below)
  • Onion
  • Enchilada sauce
  • Salsa
  • Optional- throw in some other veggies- canned corn, peppers, etc.  Hot sauce, sour cream or avocados to eat with it.

You could probably just bring some of everything and throw it in tinfoil together.  But what I did was make some spanish rice at home and then mixed it with the shredded chicken (cooked up with onion and garlic), salsa, and black beans.  Then it’s all ready to go!  I just threw it in a big ziplock storage bag until it was ready to use.  I made enough for several meals so we actually did some in the oven and some in tin foil packets.

I laid some tortillas down, put the chicken/rice/bean mixture on them, threw on a bunch of cheese, put another layer of tortillas on, and then covered it with enchilada sauce.  I also tried rolling some up like a normal enchilada but they leaked more and with cheese on the tinfoil they stuck to the bottom more than the other ones.  Tasted the same though.  So I would recommend doing it the other way.  My family loves enchiladas and these were just as good as when we make them in the oven- definitely a hit!

Check out my general tin foil cooking tips for more info.

DSC09176       DSC09177

I made a giant batch for several meals so I used about 5 chicken breasts, 2 cans of black beans, 2 cups uncooked rice- cooked and made into spanish rice, over a pound of cheese, one onion, two large cans of enchilada sauce, and a jar of salsa.  But like I said, this was not just for tin foil meals.  It made a LOT.  So scale it down to what you need it for.

* For shredded chicken, you can just throw some chicken breasts…frozen or thawed…into a pot of water and slowly boil it until it easily falls apart as you pull it apart with two forks.  Crock pot works great too.  Especially if you are doing pulled pork.  For pulled pork, you can get any kind of cheap pork (shoulder, rump, etc.) and stick it in your crockpot all day with some bbq sauce or something.  I usually do a mixture of ketchup, honey, a bit of worcestershire and A1, smoked paprika, garlic and minced onion bits.

**For the spanish rice, I just made some brown rice in my rice cooker and mixed it with diced tomatoes, cumin, garlic, and onion.  But there are some good, more legitimate recipes online if you prefer.  I didn’t bother to make it really awesome because I knew I was just going to be mixing it with a bunch of other stuff.

DSC09178

These turned out so well.  They are always good in the oven but you never know how something is going to work out over the campfire until you try it.  These were a huge success.  Even my picky toddler and preschooler gobble these down.  I hope you give them a try if you are looking for different ideas for outdoor cooking.

Happy campfire cooking!  Thanks for reading 🙂

Author: Explore Imagine Love

exploreimaginelove.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

