Explore. Imagine. Love.

Purposeful parenting amid a world of sugar, screens and schedules.

Disc Golf Themed Birthday

Leave a comment

In my “about me”, I mention that I’m a sucker for themes.  Themed parties, themed family Halloween costumes, themed fun days for the kids…I just love themes.  So this is the first of many posts on this topic.

I got this photo off of disc golf course review dot com. It’s from the course my husband and I play.

My husband’s birthday was yesterday.  I wanted to have a nerf gun party for him.  We’ve been wanting to have nerf gun party for a while and have been collecting darts for it.  I don’t know if it was just a busy weekend or if most of the other adults in my life think it’s time we stop throwing birthday parties for adults (say what?!), but nobody was going to come.  We decided to try again later.  So I switched gears and tried to think of some fun things to just do as a family.  At the last minute, because we were doing it on Thursday rather than Saturday, I thought it might be possible that our two closest couple friends might be able to join us.  I didn’t expect them to be able to, but they happened to be free!  Yay!  So that morning I decided to do a folf themed surprise party.

*Side note- I will from now on refer to folf as “disc golf” because Jason has informed me that it is not really known as folf around the globe and that disc golf is more of a proper term for it, especially considering you don’t use frisbees, you use special (folf?) discs.  I get this because I changed from saying “pop” to “soda” once I felt like it made more sense and stopped pronouncing “pillow” “pellow” and “milk” “melk.”  😉  But it’s difficult for me.  It has been “folf” for a long time.

With only 7 hours to plan everything I knew that there was a possibility I might be pulling a typical Amber move and may at some point realize that I don’t actually have time for everything and end up stressed out.  But that did not happen-  the day went flawlessly and it was a lot of fun.

We bought Jason a disc golf basket so he can practice his putting.  I’ve been wanting to get him one of these for years and had seen one on sale, plus I had a $10 off coupon.  I was super excited to be able to get this for him and of course it was perfect for the theme.

DSC08939

And to go with the gift is the disc golf basket cake.  It was one of the easiest cakes I’ve done.  I bought a gluten free King Arthur brand chocolate cake in a box.  I’ve tried Betty Crocker and done some  home made cakes and this is I think by far the best (and easiest) cake I’ve ever made.  Just add oil, water and eggs.  It was yummy and super moist.

I made a bunt cake and put it upside down to have sort of the shape of a basket.  This worked out perfectly too, because the hole made it really easy for the paper towel roll wrapped in aluminum foil to stay up.  For frosting I used pudding mixed with a bit of whipping cream, which turned out to be really yummy.  And then I colored some whipping cream yellow to make the side of the cake look like the basket.  I always use condiment containers to draw on cakes and cupcakes it’s so easy to use- not like trying to squeeze frosting out of hole you cut in the corner of a baggy.  And so cheap- you don’t have to buy the colored frosting they have at the store.

DSC08914

DSC08916

I cut out a circle from cardboard, had Big Sis color it yellow, and then hot glued yellow pipe cleaners around the sides.  Then I just put some paper clips together and glued them to the cardboard.  Bam!  Done.  Success 🙂

DSC08919

We had a wonderful disc golf themed party with our friends last minute.  Thanks for reading!

Author: Explore Imagine Love

exploreimaginelove.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

